KATH’S FAN-TASTIC MASQUERADE

This is a gorgeous card from Kath which at first sight looks quite complex but if you break it down into stages it is in fact quite easy and looks very effective I think anyone receiving this card would be thrilled so have a go.

I will explain the stages and the only thing I will leave out is the basic matting and layering which is very straightforward .Firstly creating the mask- the mask has been stamped with black versafine ink onto turquoise card and then embossed in clear embossing powder. Then some turquoise stickles and a few turquoise gems have been added to complete a clear teardrop shaped gem has been put under the eye . The next step is to add the embellishments to the top of the mask- the swirls/flourishes are made using a cricut machine and then using a versamark ink pad to cover then and then emboss then with silver embossing powder and add a little of the turquoise stickles ,when dry using silicone glue attach to the back of the mask and at this stage add the feathers as well making sure they are slightly to the side so they also go behind  the fan once that is in place.

The fan is simply stamped using the flourish stamp from the set and a versafine black ink pad and a versamark inkpad to create a watermark effect  then folded to form the fan shape and held together with a brad.The beads that are over the fan are from a christmas decoration that Kath did not want anymore .As you will all know by now if you have visited our blog before I love items that we can re-cycle or get for free I have even used the packet from my teabags to stamp on before now lol it was a nice one it was a craft brown colour it worked really well but now they have changed the packaging , oh well,but always look at things before you put them in the bin you can use all sorts of things I am sure I am telling you nothing new but sometimes we need a reminder as we forget about techniques and ideas we have used in the past and I like to move away from my crafty comfort zone and play with different things it keeps my designs fresh and allows me to use the same stamps I have in so many different ways which is in the long run saving me money ,crafting is an expensive hobby and we all need to watch the pennies and as the stamps are the expensive bit by using them in different ways we can  save a few pence and keep doing different cards .The corners have been done using a paper shaper punch  a few large gems have been added to finish off and that’s it.Have a look back over our old posts and see  how many different ways we have used this  stamp set and there are more ideas which I have not yet posted  so check back soon for more .I think this set is one that is real good value for money as you can create so many different designs with it…..I would say you need it lol.

HUGS TO ALL ALISON, KATH AND LOUISE XXXXXXX

One thought on “KATH’S FAN-TASTIC MASQUERADE

Leave a Reply

